Naveen Patnaik likely to retain nine old teammates

BHUBANESWAR: BJD president Naveen Patnaik in his fourth term as chief minister is likely to retain at least nine ministers from the previous team, including six in the cabinet rank, sources said here on Tuesday.

Naveen will take oath at Raj Bhawan around 10 am on Wednesday. With him 11 cabinet and 10 ministers of state (MoS) are expected to be administered the oath of office, party sources said.

"Though last minute changes cannot be ruled out, all those chosen for ministerial berths have been communicated," a senior BJD functionary said.

Those chosen for cabinet berths are Damodar Rout, Bijayashree Routray, Debi Prasad Mishra, Bikram Keshari Arukh, Lal Bihari Himirika, Pradip Maharathi, Badri Naryan Patra, Jogendra Behera, Pushpendra Singhdeo, Usha Devi and Pradip Amat.

The ministers of state (MoS) are Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak, Arun Sahu, Ramesh Chandra Majhi, Ashok Panda, Sanjay Dasburma, Sudam Marandi, Prafulla Mallik, Pranab Prakash Das, Pradip Panigrahi and Snehangini Chhuria.

Naveen has dropped as many as five from the previous ministry. They are S N Patro, Maheswar Mohanty, Niranjan Pujari, Rajanikanta Singh and Subrat Tarai.

In the new ministry, six previous cabinet ministers, Damodar Rout, Bijayashree Routray, Debi Prasad Mishra, Bikram Keshari Arukh, Lal Bihari Himirika and Usha Devi, have managed to retain their positions. For Jogendra Behera, it is the first time. Badri Narayan Patra, who was MoS in the previous ministry, was promoted to the cabinet rank.

Former ministers Pradip Maharathi and Pushpendra Singhdeo are set to return to the ministry in the cabinet rank. Pradip Amat was speaker in the outgoing assembly.

Among the MoS, there are six new faces.

They are Sanjay Dasburma, Ashok Panda, Pranab Prakash Das, Sudam Marandi, Prafulla Mallik and Snehangini Chhuria. Of the rest four, Arun Sahu and Ramesh Majhi were in the previous ministry, while Atanu returns to the ministry after a gap of more than one and half years.

Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik at the celebration of 101st birth anniversary of Biju Patnaik at Adivasi Exhibition Ground Unit-I ,Bhubaneswar
Published on 05th Sun March 2017
Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik felicitating Soumya Sambavi for her Outstanding Performance in CBSE 12th Commerce exam at Secretariat
Published on 02nd Fri June 2017
Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik addressing cocncil of ministers at secretariat
Published on 21st Sun May 2017
Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik attending 43rd Sradhotsav of late Maharaja Krusnachandra Gajapati Narayan Deb at OLA premises
Published on 25th Thu May 2017
See All News

Members of Legislative Assembly

View all the MLAs