4-member Farmers Commission constituted in Orissa

Orissa government has constituted a four-member state Farmers Commission, led by former Orissa Chief Secretary S M Patnaik, to review the current status of agriculture, its performance, strength and weakness in various agro-climatic zones.

The commission would also work out a comprehensive strategy for achieving equitable agriculture development of the state.

Agriculture Minister Damodar Rout told newspersons here today that the commission was asked to submit its report within six months.

The other three members of the commission were- soil scientist Niranjan Panda, Chairman of state Finance Commission Sundhakar Panda and OUAT vice-chancellor D P Ray.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik had announced to form the commission during the last winter session of the state Assembly after a number of farmers committed suicide following crop failure. The notification for the constitution was made on January two last.

The commission would analyse the factors responsible for low farm income and suggest measure to enhance income of the farmers, crop diversification, improved marketing, value addition and agro processing.

The government also asked the commission to recommend measures for stepping up investments
in agriculture and allied sector, besides promoting public-private partnership in agriculture enterprise, suggest measures for harnessing information technology in agriculture and for making farming knowledge-based.

Among other things, the commission would also examine the existing cropping pattern, suggest rational land use policy, evaluate development, testing and dissemination of improved agriculture technologies.

Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik handing over appointment letters to newly recruited GPEOs and PAs at Jaydev Bhawan
Published on 20th Sat May 2017
Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik attending 43rd Sradhotsav of late Maharaja Krusnachandra Gajapati Narayan Deb at OLA premises
Published on 25th Thu May 2017
Hon`ble Chief Minister of Odisha, Shri Naveen Patnaik meting with the Hon`ble Prime Minister of India in New Delhi
Published on 21st Mon November 2016
Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik at the celebration of 101st birth anniversary of Biju Patnaik at Adivasi Exhibition Ground Unit-I ,Bhubaneswar
Published on 05th Sun March 2017
See All News

Members of Legislative Assembly

View all the MLAs