Naveen to have it easy in new Assembly

When the 14th Orissa Assembly convenes in June, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik can afford to relax. Having routed the Opposition in the just-concluded Assembly election, the 62-year-old won’t be expecting many tough questions from Opposition benches.

Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal (BJD) holds 103 seats in the 147-member Assembly thus pushing the Opposition to the margins. This is the first time since the Biju Patnaik-led Janata Dal held a similar dominating position in the Assembly after winning 123 seats in the 1990 election. Though there was no recognised Opposition party in the Assembly then as none could secure the requisite number of seats, Congress stalwarts like former chief minister Nandini Satpathy, Hemananda Biswal, Basanta Biswal, Raghunath Patnaik and Habibullah Khan ensured that Bjiu Patnaik did not have it easy.

Though the Opposition has more seats this time (Congress has 26 seats and the BJP, 6), there is hardly a leader in its ranks who can be a real challenge to Naveen Patnaik as veterans like J B Patnaik, Niranjan Jena, Jaydev Jena, Lalatendu Bidyadhar Mohapatra and Nalinikanta Mohanty from the Congress and Biswabhushan Harichandan, Dharmendra Pradhan, Sameer Dey and Manmohan Samal from the BJP failed to make it to the Assembly. Three of the seven BJP legislators and 15 of the 26 Congress legislators are first-timers. In fact, almost half the MLA’s in the Assembly are newcomers.

Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik at the World Forest Day at Jaydev Bhawan
Published on 21st Tue March 2017
Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik attending 43rd Sradhotsav of late Maharaja Krusnachandra Gajapati Narayan Deb at OLA premises
Published on 25th Thu May 2017
Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik handing over the appointment letters to newly recruited Engineers of OPTCL at Jaydev Bhawan
Published on 31st Wed May 2017
Hon`ble Chief Minister of Odisha, Shri Naveen Patnaik meting with the Hon`ble Prime Minister of India in New Delhi
Published on 21st Mon November 2016
See All News

Members of Legislative Assembly

View all the MLAs