Naveen works on 5-year road map

Chief minister Naveen Patnaik today directed secretaries to draw up five-year perspective plans for their respective departments.

The directive was issued at a meeting of the secretaries the first after the recent Lok Sabha and Assembly polls in which Naveen received a massive mandate.

Naveen, who is holding office as chief minister for the third consecutive term, apparently wanted to lay down a set of guidelines for bureaucrats for the next five years. The chief minister asked departmental heads to finalise their perspective plans within a fortnight in consultation with their ministers.

He stressed on effective and sincere implementation of various welfare schemes such as Rs 2 per kg rice scheme for the poor, the Madhubabu Pension Yojana, Gopabandhu Gramin Yojana, Mission Shakti, Employment Mission and Infant Mortality Reduction Mission, Pani Panchayat and Bijili-Sadak-Pani programme.

Underscoring the need for periodic monitoring of various government programmes, the chief minister said annual, quarterly and monthly targets should be fixed for departmental programmes. Chief secretary, development commissioner and agriculture production commissioners should monitor these targets from time to time. Similarly, directors and chief engineers should monitor at their level.

The directors and chief engineers should go for field visits for at least 10 days a month, while district collectors should visit each block and tehsil in their district at least once a month, he said.

There should be well co-ordination between each government department, directorate and district through e-governance, Naveen said, advising the secretaries to properly maintain management information system.

Stressing on the grievance redressal mechanism, Naveen said every Saturday would be declared as grievance day from the secretariat to block level.

Laying emphasis on field inspection by the secretaries and revenue divisional commissioners, the chief minister said they should regularly review implementation of various poverty-alleviation schemes.

Each and every field staff would be held responsible for implementation of government programmes at their level, he said.

The meeting was attended by chief secretary Ajit Kumar Tripathy, development commissioner Tarunkanti Mishra, agriculture production commissioner Satya Prakash Nanda, principal secretary to chief minister Bijoy Kumar Patnaik, besides the departmental secretaries.

Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik discussing with delegates of NALCO Coordination Committee on at Secretariat
Published on 24th Wed May 2017
Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik discussing on Power-cut problem at Secretariat
Published on 24th Wed May 2017
Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik handing over the appointment letters to newly recruited Engineers of OPTCL at Jaydev Bhawan
Published on 31st Wed May 2017
Hon`ble Vice President of India, Dr. M. Hamid Ansari and Hon`ble Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik at the Birth Centenary celebration of Legendary Leader Biju Patnaik at New Delhi
Published on 20th Sun November 2016
See All News

Members of Legislative Assembly

View all the MLAs