Orissa CM Naveen Patnaik announces Compensation for Landmine Blast Victims

Orissa Chief Minister, who flew to Koraput to pay his last tribute to the nine security personnel, who were killed in a landmine blast at Palur village near Narayanpatna in Koraput district, announced a compensation of Rs. 8 lakh each to the families of the victims. Each family will also receive an insurance sum of Rs. 10 lakh each. One family member of Driver Sukant Sahu, who was killed in the blast, will get a job, announced the CM.

The SDPO (Sub-divisional Police Officer) of Laxmipur, has been placed under suspension for not following the standing instructions while carrying out anti-naxalite operations. Eight Special Strike Force officials and a Driver of Orissa Police, were killed in the blast.

In such operations, non-police vehicles should have been used. But the SDPO arranged a police jeep for the Special Strike Force (consisting of ex-servicemen), who were on their way to provide security to Orissa State Disaster Rapid Action Force (ODRAF). The police vehicle was blown into pieces and jumped about 40 meters from the ground due to the impact of the blast.

According to police sources, the Maoists who were hiding near the blast site, burnt some of the jawans, who were badly injured and lying on the road. The Maoists brutally murdered them and even tried to prevent the CRPF from retrieving their bodies.

The CRPF secured the blast site and retrieved the bodies of all dead security personnel. They were given full state honours at the district police headquarters in Koraput and later sent to their respective families. Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and DG Manmohan Praharaj had gone to Koraput to show their last respect to the departed souls.

Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik with Mr. Nils Ragnar Kamsvag, Norwegian Ambassador at Secretariat
Published on 22nd Wed March 2017
Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik felicitating Soumya Sambavi for her Outstanding Performance in CBSE 12th Commerce exam at Secretariat
Published on 02nd Fri June 2017
Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik discussing on Power-cut problem at Secretariat
Published on 24th Wed May 2017
Hon`ble Vice President of India, Dr. M. Hamid Ansari and Hon`ble Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik at the Birth Centenary celebration of Legendary Leader Biju Patnaik at New Delhi
Published on 20th Sun November 2016
See All News

Members of Legislative Assembly

View all the MLAs