Orissa Government to set up 5, 000 hostels for 5 lakh girls says CM

Orissa Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik says government to set up 5, 000 hostels for 5 lakh girls. He said this during the celebration of State level International Women’s Day. Inaugurating a State-level function here at the Kalinga stadium, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik said awareness should be created to protect the rights of women.

He also stressed how the Mission Shakti has become a silent revolution and enhanced the economy condition of the women. “The State Government has already set up 1,000 girls hostels for tribal girls. It is planning to set up nearly one 5,000 girls’ hostels for 5 lakh girls,” Patnaik said. Following the footprints of the Biju Babu, the State enhanced reservation facilities for women from 33 per cent to 50 per cent at all level in the Panchayat Raj institutions (PRIs), Patnaik said.

On this occasion, Chief Minister felicitated 30 Women Self Help Group. Patnaik also gave away prizes to the SBI, Utakl Gramya Bank, UCO Bank and Balasore-Bhadrak Co-Operative Bank for their outstanding contribution to strengthen the women empowerment by disbursing huge loans to the WSGs. Finance Minister Prafulla Chandra Ghadai, Women and Child Development Minister Pramilla Mallick, Minister of State Textile and Handloom Anjali Behera and other senior leaders were present on the occasion.

An MoU being signed between School & Mass Education Department and Kusuma Foundation in presence of Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik at Secretariat
Published on 22nd Mon May 2017
Hon`ble Chief Minister of Odisha, Shri Naveen Patnaik meting with the Hon`ble Prime Minister of India in New Delhi
Published on 21st Mon November 2016
Hon`ble Vice President of India, Dr. M. Hamid Ansari and Hon`ble Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik at the Birth Centenary celebration of Legendary Leader Biju Patnaik at New Delhi
Published on 20th Sun November 2016
Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik dedicating the 6 MTPA Integrated Steel Plant
Published on 27th Sat May 2017
See All News

Members of Legislative Assembly

View all the MLAs