Treat for plant lovers

The annual flower show that kicked off at the Ekamra Kanan here on Saturday added special flavour to the capitalís festive fervour for the ongoing National Youth Festival here.

The two-day show, now in its 27th year, is being hosted by the Plant Loversí Association of Bhubaneswar in association with the Regional Plant Resource Centre on its sprawling green campus popularly known as Ekamra Kanan. Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik inaugurated the show.

The Chief Minister conferred the coveted UNESCO certificate on the Simlipal Biosphere Reserve (SBR) for its pride of place in the World Biosphere Network on the occasion. SBR director Haruishankar Upadhyay received the certificate. Mr. Patnaik also released two books penned on wild edible fruit plants of Eastern India and amphibians and reptiles of Simlipal.

Addressing the gathering, he emphasised on conservation of Orissaís unique bio-diversity and protection of Bhitarkanika and Simlipal known worldwide for their bio-diversity.
Plant bazaar

It has been a riot of colours at the Ekamra Kanan that housed participation of nearly 250 individuals and three dozens of organisations that includes corporate houses and firms dealing with floriculture.

A plant bazaar has also been set up at the site that has a wide range of products on sale and display. Experts are also available here for offering guidance on gardening.

An MoU being signed between School & Mass Education Department and Kusuma Foundation in presence of Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik at Secretariat
Published on 22nd Mon May 2017
Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik addressing at the Fourth Annual Ceremony of Milita Sarakari Motor Karmachari Sangha at Secretariat
Published on 22nd Mon May 2017
Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik with Shri Adwait Gadanayak Director General National Gallery of Modern Art at Secretariat
Published on 02nd Fri June 2017
Home Secretary Shri Asit Tripathy and Odisha Police Housing Corporation CMD Shri S. Upadhay handing over a cheque of Rs. 4,65,28,000/- towards State Governmentís dividend to Chief Minister Shri Naveen
Published on 19th Fri May 2017
See All News

Members of Legislative Assembly

View all the MLAs